PDA

View Full Version : Web Development Hell (Dealing with clients that are clueless)

Lucky.
August 18th, 2010, 09:08 AM
Anybody out there do web development as a business?

Thought I'd vent a little and get some feedback (or hear some other amusing stories) regarding this. Here's my story:

Being a software engineer in a small town, people kept hitting me up to make websites for them. After a couple of people showed up and committed to pay money for web sites, we launched a small business out of our home to try it out.

All of the web developers in our small town area are one of two types:

1. "I'm an excellent coder but my web sites are ugly!"

2. "I can use Dreamweaver! What's this PHP you speak of? Javascript? Huh?"

Also let it be known that none of these developers understand or care about cross-browser compatibility.

In comparison, I'm a great coder, and my wife is a great graphic designer. OUR POWERS COMBINED! - We're able to make some beautiful pages that rival fancy development firms in terms of both graphic design and functionality. Hooray!

So enter the clients....

Our first client wanted a static website for her vacation property. She had a vague vision of wanting a lot of "oohs and aahs" and clouds. Nice. Unfortunately she had no logo, and no pictures of her property. We agreed to start the project with promises that the client would deliver the photos, but then we never got them. My wife (the graphic designer) had nothing to work with for 3 months. Without it, we fumbled around for a long time trying to imagine what the site should look like, picking fonts and colors that we hoped would work with the future photos, etc. We wasted a ton of time on this. In addition, the client had little idea what content to write anywhere, and placed that responsibility on us. So we basically scripted the entire site, added in filler here and there, and crossed our fingers that we captured the mood she wanted.