PDA

View Full Version : I know its Over Anxiousness but Please help me.

kolichina_s_s
April 5th, 2006, 02:27 PM
HI,

Recently I have run my first C program in Linux, I am a Professional Windows C,C++ Developer. I have no knowledege about Linux and its Kernel(Yet I find VI as the Interesting Editor). But I have to do some serious programming now.

I need to work on a device that connects to serial Port and Also my program should do some Modem Dialing . Where can i get some materials on this kind of Programming,:confused: I know its not that Easy but I must do it. I also know if without basic concepts I try to rise high I will fall but believe me .. I need to do this ](*,)

I need some kind of guidence. Please Help me

sapo
April 5th, 2006, 05:38 PM
Man, if you have to work with dial up modems on linux, i feel sorry for you.

pitkali
April 5th, 2006, 06:51 PM
Serial port - like /dev/ttyS0 for instance? It is a text file in the file system, right? So I think you could try just writing into it. Is dialing sending textual commands to the modem? Like ATZ ... and the like?

Regards,

ekarni
April 6th, 2006, 02:55 AM
This page should help you with the serial port side of things.
http://www.lvr.com/serport.htm
A search for "RS-232" should give you plenty more info.

kolichina_s_s
April 6th, 2006, 06:18 AM
Is dialing sending textual commands to the modem? Like ATZ ... and the like?

:confused: Yes I guess So but i am not sure about any particular command.

kolichina_s_s
April 6th, 2006, 06:24 AM
Hi,

This page should help you with the serial port side of things.
http://www.lvr.com/serport.htm
A search for "RS-232" should give you plenty more info.

Thanks for the Link , at last i have something to Read.

I need one more help , Can you please tell me What is the Substitute of Events (in Windows) on Linux. Can you Please suggest some books and Links on this Event Driven Programming on Linux.:-?

Thanks a lot for the help

rplantz
April 6th, 2006, 06:08 PM