PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Very Simple CD Question



Planetes
August 18th, 2010, 01:48 AM
I have an old age of empires disc and i was wondering how to copy it and if copying it would ruin the disc.

Thanks.

Also i was planning on using brasero 1:1 copy but it said the process was unavailable.

linux18
August 18th, 2010, 01:54 AM
dd if=your_cd of=your_iso bs=4M

Planetes
August 18th, 2010, 02:12 AM
Concise.

Thanks I'll give 'er a shot

Planetes
August 18th, 2010, 02:22 AM
Did not work for me. Here is what i got.



if=/media/AOE2 of=AgeofEmpires.iso bs=4M
dd: reading `/media/AOE2': Is a directory
0+0 records in
0+0 records out
0 bytes (0 B) copied, 0.000204519 s, 0.0 kB/s

linux18
August 18th, 2010, 02:47 AM
dd if=/dev/cdrom of=your_iso bs=2048 conv=sync

if only I thought of it first, it would have been concise and accurate

Planetes
August 18th, 2010, 03:41 AM
Okay, The line worked without flaw but when i burn the iso to disc it doesn't play as a game or autoplay.
I'm trying to use it on windows by the way.

Planetes
August 18th, 2010, 06:25 PM
I feel like i'm missing something fundemental here. I'm just trying to make a copy of this game.