PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New in the field of linux world.

Emperor_penguin
August 17th, 2010, 02:02 PM
Hello to evryone):P, after many hacked versions of windows 7 i had to put out, i decided to use Ubuntu 10.04

As i'm very new in the Linux world, i'd like to say thanks to everyone that has the patience to explain certain doubts i might have.
:confused:
I'm about to install Ubuntu 10.04 lucid lynx 64 bits on my system,however i have some worries i'd like to share with everyone reading this.:guitar:

I'm very upset with Itunes company, i love using my ipod with the correct album arts in it, unfortunately i know there is no itunes for linux, there are some other programs to be used instead, which i have try amarok,gtkpod and rhythmbox without really success. The only programs that seems to work is gtkpod,but it's very odd it's use and i cant really enjoy playing music there.

From here, can i ask, Would be worth use Virtual box using either w7 or win xp for just the peace of mind? in others words, just use windows as a virtual boz just for being able to use itunes.
I have read that usb functions are hard to come by if you are using virtual pc? Is there any truth in there?:---)

2nd and last, i like linux net security and stability, however, i like playing Stalker Clear sky and Stalker Shadow of Chernobyl(booth on them on steam not retail cd):-#

I have been reading a lot of using steam with wine, also with Stalker-shadow of chernobyl seemed that worked, however, the clear sky edition, did not work? I havent tested it myself, so i cant really say either of them will work under wine?:-s