PDA

View Full Version : I Want to Learn Assembly

Jaiichi
August 17th, 2010, 06:12 AM
I'm heading off to my first year of university soon, studying Computer Engineering. I've been interested in teaching myself some assembly language, but I'm not totally sure how to go about this, so it'd be nice to get some guidance to start me out.

I'm moderately familiar with programming at this point, I've been working with Pascal for about 3 years (ugh, don't ask) and over the last year I've learned Java (Mostly self-taught). I've heard a lot that a moderate level of understanding C is preferred? I assume my Pascal knowledge can help me a little with that, plus I believe C is the language they teach first-years at my university.

I've tried to look around to get some vague understanding of what is required to start things going towards learning more about architecture and data handling and such (or something, I'm still fairly confused).

So whats an easy way to go about teaching myself it? I figure I'd like to purchase a book if I could find an applicable one.

One thing I've at least caught on to is that it's very hardware specific. I'd probably be wanting to do this on my computer with an Intel Atom N450 Processor and Ubuntu as the OS.

So, if my questions make sense (I really hope I'm not totally off the ball), what do I need to do?

worksofcraft
August 17th, 2010, 07:58 AM
I learnt to program in assembly language and I totally support the view that you will get a far superior understanding of computer programming than all the high level languages put together could ever teach you.

It starts to get interesting when you know the exact difference between call by value and call by reference and consequences of allocating variables on the heap, or the stack and how polymorphism ands virtual methods translate into machine code.