PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Is Canonical LiveCD 64bit ?



Mike Krall
August 16th, 2010, 05:38 PM
Is the LiveCd from Canonical for 10.04 Desktop 64bit, 32bit, or both?

Mike

ubudog
August 17th, 2010, 03:19 AM
It probably depends on which iso you downloaded. You can find out by typing this in a terminal on the livecd (while running it of course):

uname -a

If it says anything about i386, (or maybe i686) then it is 32bit.
If it says anything else in that section, then it is probably 64bit.

CharlesA
August 17th, 2010, 03:20 AM
If they got it from Shipit, it will be the 32-bit version.

ubudog
August 17th, 2010, 03:23 AM
Cool.

Mike Krall
August 17th, 2010, 06:05 AM
Thank you both, I've got it straight now... if a person wants 64bit, they have to download their own copy.

Mike

CharlesA
August 17th, 2010, 06:22 AM
Indeed. Don't forget to mark the thread as "solved" from thread tools. :)

Mike Krall
August 17th, 2010, 06:41 AM
Thanks for reminding me, Charles... was just about to walk off without doing it.

Mike

ubudog
August 17th, 2010, 12:53 PM
Thank you both, I've got it straight now... if a person wants 64bit, they have to download their own copy.

Mike

Exactly.