PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu installer says no Win OS installed

currajong
August 16th, 2010, 08:05 AM
Hello All,

I am attempting to install 32 bit ubuntu 10.04-i386.iso from boot on a Windows XP Pro standalone desktop PC. I have unused hard drive partitions available for the ubuntu installation.

At one point the installation dialog box informs me that there is no OS installed on the PC, and the installation program does not correctly indicate the existing Windows hard drive partitions. At that point I abort the installation process.

Can anyone advise me how to proceed from this point. I am an old MSoft OS user from way back - I started when DOS was all that there was. I am a complete novice however where Ubuntu is concerned.

All help gratefully received.

Thank you.

Regards,

currajong

Herman
August 16th, 2010, 08:45 AM
Try running CHKDSK /R on it and see if that helps.

One way to run CHKDSK /R is to click on 'My Computer', 'Drive C:', and then right-clcik and click 'Properties', if I remember correctly, then in the 'Tools' Tab, Choose 'Scan Now'.
Make sure both check boxes are ticked, for a thorough scan and look for bad sectors and attempt recovery of them if it finds any.
It will pretend to try to scan right away, but then it realizes it can't run a file system check on a mounted file system, and will ask you if you want to schedule one for the next reboot. Choose to do so and reboot.

You can also run CHKDSK /R from a Windows installation CD if you have one. Try to use an equal or newer version of Windows CD than the version you are working on. You can use a Windows 7 CD to CHKDSK Windows XP, but I would not recommend the other way around.

Maybe even try running CHKDSK twice or even three times. I think that might fix your problem, but it's just a guess. I hope it's a good guess, but a file system check is always a good idea anyway so even if I'm wrong it won't be a complete waste of time. Let me know how you get along.

Regards, Herman :)