PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] No grub in Xubuntu?

Squigglebird
August 15th, 2010, 06:47 PM
Hello!

I'm playing around with my old Dell Dimension 4300, trying to turn it into a daily use/game machine using Xubuntu 10.04 and Puppy Arcade. Xubuntu is installed on my first harddrive and works fine, and I put Puppy on my second harddrive. Thing is, I can't figure out how to get to choose which one to boot when I start the computer, it just boots straight to the Xubuntu desktop without a single line of text being displayed. Puppy works fine if I boot from the live CD, but it would be cool if I could skip the CD and just have a frugal install on the harddrive instead.
I'm not experienced enough with linux to have a clue where to even start here. I've used Ubuntu before, but there was always a grub that you could edit by modifying menu.lst. That doesn't seem to exist in Xubuntu...? :confused:

Anyone have any advice? My computer doesn't really have anything on it, so I don't mind starting over from scratch if need be.

drs305
August 15th, 2010, 06:54 PM
Squigglebird, welcome to the Ubuntu forums.

First, see if you can display the menu by holding down the SHIFT key during the early stages of the boot. That should display the Grub2 menu.

It probably isn't finding your second OS, which is why it doesn't give you a menu. After booting, open a terminal and run "sudo update-grub" to see if Grub2 picks up the other OS. If it does, you should get the menu to appear if the settings in /etc/default/grub are correct.

I have various links in my signature line about how Grub2 works. One that would be easy to review would be the "G2 Tasks" link, which covers some of the most common settings.

Squigglebird
August 16th, 2010, 12:24 PM
Hello, and thanks!