PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] problem with install

ghost leviathan
August 14th, 2010, 07:39 PM
i recently installed 10.04 on my old laptop and keeps going to black screen. i changed the nomodeset at the install screen and can run from cd just fine but when i go to install it dose its thing then on restart in goes back to black any info would help i am really new to linux and laymen terms would help alot

Rubi1200
August 14th, 2010, 07:57 PM
What graphics card do you have installed?
How much RAM does the system have?

Also, take a look here:
http://ubuntu-tutorials.com/2010/05/06/ubuntu-10-04-lucid-blank-screen-at-startup-workaround/

If something is not clear, ask.

ghost leviathan
August 14th, 2010, 08:19 PM
not sure on the graphics card but 512 ram. i used the 1915.modeset=1 on the try before install and it works but after that i get a grub out of disk error

Rubi1200
August 14th, 2010, 08:27 PM
Try booting the computer and when you get to the GRUB menu press e to edit the entry.

If you do not see a GRUB menu try hitting Shift a few times after the BIOS screen.

Using the cursor find the line that ends with
ro quiet splash

Remove quiet splash and add the i915.modeset=1 parameter. Then Ctrl + x to boot.

If you get in, post back here and we will try and walk you through making this more permanent.

ghost leviathan
August 14th, 2010, 08:33 PM
now it wont work at all gunna start over i am at the ubuntu install screen right now can we start from there

Rubi1200
August 14th, 2010, 08:43 PM
You are attempting to reinstall now?

Ok, just proceed with the install and when you restart the computer follow what I suggested in the previous post about editing GRUB at boot time.

But, to make sure you enter the right parameter, we really need to know what graphics card you have.

So, when Ubuntu is installed, before you restart, go to the terminal (Applications > Accessories) and post the results of this:

lspci | grep VGA

ghost leviathan
August 14th, 2010, 08:51 PM