PDA

View Full Version : Creating CentOS5.x DVD images on your Ubuntu box

sspencerwire
August 13th, 2010, 07:58 PM
I'm a network administrator, and while I use Ubuntu exclusively as my desktop at home and at work, I use CentOS versions for server installs. I love Ubuntu, so the reasons we use CentOS for our server versions have nothing to do with Ubuntu, and more to do with the local knowledge base and installed base of our servers.

Obviously, installing today using multiple CD's (CentOS5.5 is now up to 8 of those) is cumbersome and kludgey and we, like many of the posts I've read lately on the Internet, really don't have the ability to use Torrents. It's an internal policy-related issue for us, but for others, it just isn't feasible for their own personal reasons.

CentOS no-longer offers, from any of the mirrors, a straight DVD.iso download. To get around this, I wanted to create a DVD.iso from my CD images. There are methods for doing this from a CentOS machine, but not one that I found for Ubuntu.

Luckily, the process is not really that difficult, if you have some knowledge of scripting and some command-line experience. Here's the procedure that I used to create the CentOS DVD iso:

===== Requirements =====

* Ubuntu with the development tools installed and alien
* Additional packages needed, wget
* CentOS5.x CD isos downloaded to a folder. (our example uses /mkdvdimg/dvd_sources)
* A copy of the mkdvdiso.sh script located here: http://wiki.centos.org/TipsAndTricks/CDtoDVDMedia
* A copy of the anaconda-runtime rpm for the version you are installing available from several sources including x86_64 this site: http://centos.mirror.netelligent.ca/centos/5.5/os/x86_64/CentOS/anaconda-runtime-11.1.2.209-1.el5.centos.x86_64.rpm or i386 here: http://centos.mirror.netelligent.ca/centos/5.5/os/i386/CentOS/anaconda-runtime-11.1.2.209-1.el5.centos.i386.rpm
* Plenty of free disk space for images and temporary files; At least 3 times the total space used by the CD isos.