PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] ubuntu



wavemaker
August 13th, 2010, 11:18 AM
Why is ubuntu using the left side to put the open/close/minimize etc?

Segofam
August 13th, 2010, 11:28 AM
This is not the answer but...
I had the same issue, and found the answer in these forums...ages ago...do a search and will find the answer. I changed them to the right side.

go2dell
August 13th, 2010, 11:29 AM
There was a HUGE discussion about this when the decision was made. Here's a post to get you started: Why Window Button Placement Doesn't Matter (at WorksWithU) (http://http://www.workswithu.com/2010/03/16/why-window-button-placement-doesnt-matter/).

You can switch the buttons to be more Kubuntu-like, if you wish. Or just keep using Kubuntu. :D

TNT1
August 13th, 2010, 11:35 AM
Use Ubuntu Tweak... put the buttons anywhere you like...

Joe of loath
August 13th, 2010, 12:42 PM
The developers (Or canonical, I forget) were planning on putting something on the right hand side, so moved the buttons to the left. To be honest it takes so little time to adjust it doesn't matter, and I rarely find myself going to the other side of the window on different OSs and GUIs.

Sef
August 13th, 2010, 03:00 PM
The developers (Or canonical, I forget) were planning on putting something on the right hand side, so moved the buttons to the left.

Are planning - there are some plans (https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/light-themes/+bug/532633/comments/564) for the right side.

Segofam
August 14th, 2010, 12:48 AM
This is not the answer but...
I had the same issue, and found the answer in these forums...ages ago...do a search and will find the answer. I changed them to the right side.

I just found what I did to change it...

gconftool -s /apps/metacity/general/button_layout -t string menu:minimize,maximize,close

For those that are afraid of the terminal and their copy-paste functionality, you can follow these steps:
Press ALT-F2 to open the application launcher.
Enter ‘gconf-editor’
Navigate to Apps > Metacity > General > Button Layout
Change the string value to ‘menu:minimize,maximize,close’
Exit gconf-editor

Kind regards.

wavemaker
August 14th, 2010, 11:03 AM
Gooday all and thank you for that. I did the "Press ALT-F2 to open the application launcher.
Enter ‘gconf-editor’
Navigate to Apps > Metacity > General > Button Layout
Change the string value to ‘menu:minimize,maximize,close’
Exit gconf-edito"
But that is what it's already got there.
Sorry, didn't even see it happen. Problem solved. Thank you!