PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation can't find previous OS installed.

Rishap Sharma
August 13th, 2010, 12:54 AM
I had been using ubuntu for quite a while.
But alas :(, I had to switch to WinXp when I started learning VS using its IDE.I installed Windows over Ubuntu wiping its grub.
I hoped I will repair grub when I would need to.
Now when I boot from Live CD to install grub it can't find the installation present.
Moreover,when I try to make a fresh installation it can't find any Operating System in the HDD and asks to format WHOLE.. hard disk to make partition table and continue installation.
Please help.:D
Thanks in advance!

MAFoElffen
August 13th, 2010, 01:22 AM
I had been using ubuntu for quite a while.
But alas :(, I had to switch to WinXp when I started learning VS using its IDE.I installed Windows over Ubuntu wiping its grub.
I hoped I will repair grub when I would need to.
Now when I boot from Live CD to install grub it can't find the installation present.
Moreover,when I try to make a fresh installation it can't find any Operating System in the HDD and asks to format WHOLE.. hard disk to make partition table and continue installation.
Please help.:D
Thanks in advance!
I'm trying to unsterstand this- I'm trying to follow. You described that you either "had" or "now have" a multi-boot PC with Ubuntu and Windows XP... and somehow Windows XP installed over the first sector of the Hard disk right?

Let me get an understanding of that first... That affects what you need to do from there. Also, how was your machine setup "before" that problem?

Rishap Sharma
August 13th, 2010, 06:11 PM
Thanks first for replying.

Yes.
You have got it right.
I earlier had Ubuntu only.Then I installed Windows over it(in other disk drive,wiping grub loader).
Used Windows for a month and half.
Tried to boot from Live CD hoping it will be easy(I would just need to reinstall Grub2 Legacy! ) to start dual boot.
But alas,previous installed Ubuntu was nowhere to be found.