PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Solution found, can't implement it. Help.

Voidis
August 11th, 2010, 06:47 PM
I'm a total Linux newb, and I seem to have gotten the wrong laptop for that. An L505D-GS6000. Apparently, it's hard to install linux on it unless you do some things (it stops with a bunch of ACPI errors. I found a solution, but I have no idea how to do it. Can anyone tell step by step how to do this?

"Thanks corelulos! Everything worked great. To summarize:

for L505D GS6000

Install 10.4
Boot with pci=noacpi
Run HexOr's script found here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...&postcount=268
Get wifi drivers from here (thanks corerlulos!): http://www.4shared.com/file/crG9xUGH...nstructio.html

Thanks everyone! I have 10.4 working on my Toshiba Satellite L505D GS6000, with everything fine, power controls, trackpad, wifi now."

How do I boot with pci=noacpi?
How do I run a script?

Voidis
August 11th, 2010, 07:30 PM
Okay, I got the ACPI off. Now to figure out the script...

alexshr
August 11th, 2010, 07:44 PM
Boot with pci=noacpi

This has to be added to the end of the grub start command options.

When you are at the grub menu, hit "e" this will take you to the edit mode, and you'll get the listing similar to the one below, these are different from machines to machines:

recordfail
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,7)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 3f523833-024e-46ff-a52d-cd172aa38fd3
linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-24-generic root=UUID=3f523833-024e-46ff-a52d-cd172aa38fd3 ro i915.powersave=0 quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-24-generic

Now you will have to add pci=noacpi to the 4th line so the line becomes

recordfail
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,7)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 3f523833-024e-46ff-a52d-cd172aa38fd3
linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-24-generic root=UUID=3f523833-024e-46ff-a52d-cd172aa38fd3 ro i915.powersave=0 quiet splash pci=noacpi
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-24-generic