PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] cannot install 10.04 to dual boot with Win7

Favilla
August 10th, 2010, 12:37 PM
Hi everyone!
I'm new to Linux and Ubuntu.;)
So I was trying to install Ubuntu on my VAIO VPCEA28EC. Since Win7 Ultimate is all ready installed, I decided to try dual booting form live CD coz someone told me that Wubi is a headache.
It all went fine until I got the Language option set, and chose "Install Ubuntu"...
Then it stayed forever with the progress bar on screen.
At first I waited, but after about half an hour it's still there, and I don't think the CD driver was really working judging from the faint noise.:(
Then I rebooted and chose "Try Ubuntu without installing", but the same thing happened...

What can I do now?

BTW I tried Installing it within Windows, but got a "permission denied" warning when the progress bar went about half the way. Already tried "Run As Administrator"

mörgæs
August 10th, 2010, 01:12 PM
If 'Try Ubuntu without installing' does not give a good result, I would not bother installing. You could try 9.10 or another Ubuntu:

http://releases.ubuntu.com/

Favilla
August 10th, 2010, 01:31 PM
Thanx for your advice! I will try that. I was suspcting a compatibility problem with my display card, which is an ATi RADEON 5650

Shahram A
August 10th, 2010, 01:58 PM
I am new to Linux and Ubuntu as well. I have installed it with win 7 and am testing it out.
Just an advice, you need to first make enough space on your hard disk available to install Ubuntu.
1- free some space by moving your files
2- back up your files in case you make a mistake to able to bring them back
3- Go to disk management in win7 and either delete a partition at the end of your disk or make space by shrinking an already existing partition.
4- after this try installing Ubuntu by optical drive, installing by USB drives don't work well in my experience.