PDA

View Full Version : Python singing through PulseAudio's lungs library?

teryret
August 10th, 2010, 05:31 AM
Hello all, I'm preparing to start a new hobby project in Python. It will be a music player that doesn't suck (Winamp being the only music player I've ever given the "doesn't suck" title to, and I'm sick of having to use wine just to play music).

Disclaimer: I'll be the first to say I don't yet have a clear idea of how audio works in Linux, so please be gentle. I'm by no stretch new to programming, but this is my first time targeting Linux.

One of my main concerns is this vague sense of doom associated with the name PulseAudio and the fact that there is no python-pulseaudio bindings package in the repositories as there is for alsa. Is that a problem? The wikipedia article (that I'll admit to only partially understanding) suggests that the alsa interface will work because pulseaudio exposes a shim interface that looks like alsa, but that talking directly to pulseaudio is also possible. The latter seems like the much cleaner and more featureful solution (since pulseaudio probably isn't going anywhere in the forseeable future), but in my googling I've not seen any real information on how that direct interface works... which leads me to believe either I'm asking the wrong question or nobody has done this in python yet (which seems unlikely).

Does anyone have any good resources that I could go read? Or perhaps a high level description of how this whole sound thing works and what parts of it I will need to familiarize myself with?

Thanks in advance for whatever help I can get!

teryret
August 12th, 2010, 08:38 PM
Bump! Doesn't anyone know how audio programming works in ubuntu?

smartbei
August 13th, 2010, 03:25 PM
I guess I would go for creating your own python interface to pulseaudio through a simple wrapping of the pulseaudio APIs.