PDA

View Full Version : How would I give myself an email address myname@mydomain.myextention?

Dustin2128
August 9th, 2010, 11:32 AM
I'm assuming it would involve setting up a mail server. Could it be done in a virtual machine? Would I have to access it from the mail server? What about uptime? I've never done anything like this before so bear with me if I ask stupid questions.

NCLI
August 9th, 2010, 11:47 AM
Way easier to just setup a Google Apps account and register a domain (http://www.google.com/a/cpanel/domain).

You'll get the standard gmail interface and features, but even more customizable.

Bachstelze
August 9th, 2010, 11:53 AM
Setting up your own mail server is one way to do it. Another is to use a registrar that also provides email hosting or redirection. It all depends on what you want to do and why.

jroa
August 9th, 2010, 12:32 PM
This might help.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/MailServer

Tristam Green
August 9th, 2010, 01:02 PM
Way easier to just setup a Google Apps account and register a domain (http://www.google.com/a/cpanel/domain).

You'll get the standard gmail interface and features, but even more customizable.

++

Buy a domain - they're dirt cheap.

Frak
August 9th, 2010, 03:28 PM

++

I buy all my domains from Google now. Most awesomest registrar evar.

samalex
August 9th, 2010, 04:07 PM

I agree here... I have several domains running under Google Apps, and it's definitely easier and cheaper than finding a colo or virtual host. And if Google Mail goes down, you're not the only one screaming :)

Sam

Dustin2128
August 9th, 2010, 09:53 PM
I'm thinking of setting up my own server now. Could I do it in a VM? What if my computer was suspended or hibernating as the message is being received, would it still be in my inbox?

Bachstelze
August 9th, 2010, 09:59 PM
I'm thinking of setting up my own server now. Could I do it in a VM?