PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Root File System Undefined

VinnyLC
August 8th, 2010, 11:07 PM
I would like to start off by saying this: I am very new to Linux, and this is my first time installing it, therefor I am having some very newb-like issues. Please bear with me.
I am currently at step five of the installation process of Ubuntu, and I clicked on the partition which I have set aside to install Ubuntu onto, but when I proceed by hitting forward, I get the following error message:

"No root file system is defined.

Please correct this from the partitioning menu."

My question to the community is, how would I correct that? How do I turn my 20GB partition into the root file system? All help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Vinny

P.S. I searched the forum for this issue, and being that it sounds so simple, yet I found nothing about it being previously asked, I feel sort of dumb....

oldos2er
August 8th, 2010, 11:30 PM
If I'm not mistaken, right-click on the partition and choose "/" for root.

VinnyLC
August 8th, 2010, 11:48 PM
When I right clicked the partition I got three options: change, delete, revert, but no / :(
I have taken a screenshot of what I see when I go through this process. I will attach it; hopefully you'll be able to help me out then.
Thank you for the swift reply, though.

Rubi1200
August 9th, 2010, 12:55 AM
Hi,
You set aside 20GB for Ubuntu; sda5 in the screenshot. Correct?

Then do this:

Try again and this time when it gives the message right-click on sda5 and choose Add.

Then, select Ext4 as the filesystem under Use as and under Mount point select /

Ubuntu will then create a root partition and a swap partition on the 20GB partition. All your "home" files will also be there.

Then you can continue the installation.

One word of advice: when it comes to the bootloader; use the defaults and don't change anything. The bootloader needs to be installed to the MBR.

Good luck!

VinnyLC
August 9th, 2010, 01:02 AM