PDA

View Full Version : Can I give away copies of Ubuntu for free?

Gone Digital
August 4th, 2010, 07:22 PM
Hi, I have been using Ubuntu for a month now, I used Windows for 19 years, and last month I changed to Ubuntu and have not looked back, I would like to know if I can give away copies of Ubuntu for free to people?

Thank You. ):P

Zorgoth
August 4th, 2010, 07:24 PM
You most certainly can! The GPL allows you to use, distribute, and modify Ubuntu in any way; as long as you don't steal code from Ubuntu and use it for a commercial product, you're fine. That is why open source software is so awesome!

Gone Digital
August 4th, 2010, 07:39 PM
You most certainly can! The GPL allows you to use, distribute, and modify Ubuntu in any way; as long as you don't steal code from Ubuntu and use it for a commercial product, you're fine. That is why open source software is so awesome!

I fix old-ish laptops which I sell on, is it ok to Install Ubuntu on these and give away a free cd with each laptop?

Thank You.

Bachstelze
August 4th, 2010, 07:39 PM
I fix old-ish laptops which I sell on, is it ok to Install Ubuntu on these and give away a free cd with each laptop?

Thank You.

Yes.

endotherm
August 4th, 2010, 07:41 PM
here are a list of the fundemental freedoms you shoudl inisist upon when selecting open source software (one of them is the right to redistribute):
http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/free-sw.html

Gone Digital
August 4th, 2010, 07:41 PM
Yes.

tgalati4
August 4th, 2010, 07:49 PM
You are doing a useful service of providing a second life to these laptops. They have suffered through many years of Windows abuse, it's time they enjoy themselves in retirement with Ubuntu.

Gone Digital
August 4th, 2010, 07:57 PM
Two of the laptops have a DVD drive, how could I go about installing a DVD Player program, would I need to pay a licence to install a DVD Player?

Thank You ):P

JBAlaska
August 4th, 2010, 08:01 PM
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras