PDA

View Full Version : Linux, Windows or Cisco Jobs?

FoggyMtn
April 3rd, 2006, 05:44 PM
Hey Ya'll

I'm considering a mid life career change. I would like to go back and get an Associates as a Network Specialst.

FIrst off, will an Associates do any good? Or is a BS required even for entry level jobs.

Secondly, they have you specialize in either Linux/Unix networks, Cisco networks or WIndows 2000 networks. Which is the most widely used and would give me the best shot for employment? I'm new to all of this. I;ve played a little with linux (very very little, like just live cd little) and a little unix on my mac.

Can anyone help me out that's either in this idustry or has any advice?

THanks abunch

rob

John.Michael.Kane
April 3rd, 2006, 05:52 PM
Speaking for myself I would get the linux, and cisco. however you need to evaluate the thech market for where you live or want to live to make sure you will be coming in with what is needed in those states or countries.

mangz74
April 3rd, 2006, 05:58 PM
Based on my experience, Unix/Linux jobs are harder to look, Cisco networks are okay but there's a lot cisco professional who are in the market already jobless and windows is just everywhere. if u want to go for unix jobs, be prepared to really dive into it. eat, breathe, and live unix. i hate to say this but the IT job market is getting too small with too many paper certified people running around.

FoggyMtn
April 3rd, 2006, 05:59 PM
Thanks for the input! Is it just personal preference? Or are linux and cisco the way of the future? Are they all used in the same applications and capacity? Or is one more suited to something than another? They're all greek to me, so I need to know what to look at to know how to decide what is used in my area.
Thanks for the help!!

rob

John.Michael.Kane
April 3rd, 2006, 06:47 PM