PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Alsa and subwoofers



sparkplug619
August 4th, 2010, 03:08 AM
Hello. I just finished installing my realtek alc883 sound driver after a long day of searching and troubleshooting.

I finally have sound on my computer. My problem now is I only have one channel working so the only way I can use my subwoofer is through the same channel as my speakers which sounds so crappy.

I want to know if there is anyway to get my subwoofer to work in its own channel? I should have 3 channels. 2 out and 1 in. Im not sure if the 'in' channel is working either but I dont need it anyway.


Btw, I am still learning linux, I believe im a step up from a beginner but still have alot to learn, just to break the ice.

ubunterooster
August 4th, 2010, 03:53 AM
See the Comprehensive Sound Problem Solutions Guide (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=205449) to properly set up the audio.

sparkplug619
August 4th, 2010, 04:03 AM
See the Comprehensive Sound Problem Solutions Guide (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=205449) to properly set up the audio.


I was able to get the subwoofer to work. The last step is to set it up for low-pass only.

I didnt have much use for the link, but thank you

sparkplug619
August 4th, 2010, 05:49 AM
I was able to get the subwoofer to work. The last step is to set it up for low-pass only.

I didnt have much use for the link, but thank you


Anyone know of a way to get my sub to only play low pass?

Ive been reading for hours with not much luck

sparkplug619
August 4th, 2010, 06:06 AM
My pulse audio no longer works correctly... im getting so fed up with this

sparkplug619
August 4th, 2010, 09:31 PM
problem solved... My pulse audio works correctly. My sub has a low pass filter.

But now, when I play music in Amarok, after every 3 or 4 songs the audio breaks and I have to restart alsa and pulse audio.

sparkplug619
August 5th, 2010, 10:41 PM
problem solved... My pulse audio works correctly. My sub has a low pass filter.

But now, when I play music in Amarok, after every 3 or 4 songs the audio breaks and I have to restart alsa and pulse audio.


Anyone know why my audio breaks when I change songs?

simosx
August 5th, 2010, 10:46 PM
You need to provide detailed hardware information about your sound card; it's possible that the sound card is not supported well. Another issue is to check that you have the latest BIOS update installed (it's strange, though it can affect sound as well).

Run

wget www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh -O alsa-info.sh && bash alsa-info.sh

When prompted, allow to send the details to www.alsa-project.org and post the resulting URL here. You can read more on this at the Ubuntu Sound Troubleshooting Wiki.

sparkplug619
August 5th, 2010, 10:58 PM
This is the url I got

http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=32070547587f5bdde954f928099c13fff0907b78

sparkplug619
August 6th, 2010, 05:05 AM
I created a /proc/asound/cards file like it said in the troubleshooting guide and added my card as the top priority (0) and now my sound card is not recognized. I deleted the file and rebooted my computer and it still is not recognized. Im back at square one. Im thinking a complete wipe of everything alsa related and a reinstall is necessary about now. Im creating more problems than I am fixing

lidex
August 6th, 2010, 05:14 AM
What is the make model of your PC/Laptop? If you assembled it, what is the motherboard model? Can you post this output please:

sudo dmidecode -t bios
sudo dmidecode -t baseboard

sparkplug619
August 6th, 2010, 07:38 AM
What is the make model of your PC/Laptop? If you assembled it, what is the motherboard model? Can you post this output please:

sudo dmidecode -t bios
sudo dmidecode -t baseboard



I built my computer myself using an Asus M2A.VM (no HDMI) motherboard.

The onboard audio is Realtek Alc883.

For "sudo dmidecode -t bios":


# dmidecode 2.9
SMBIOS 2.4 present.

Handle 0x0000, DMI type 0, 24 bytes
BIOS Information
Vendor: Phoenix Technologies, LTD
Version: ASUS M2A-VM ACPI BIOS Revision 2201
Release Date: 10/22/2008
Address: 0xE0000
Runtime Size: 128 kB
ROM Size: 1024 kB
Characteristics:
ISA is supported
PCI is supported
PNP is supported
APM is supported
BIOS is upgradeable
BIOS shadowing is allowed
Boot from CD is supported
Selectable boot is supported
BIOS ROM is socketed
EDD is supported
5.25"/360 KB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
5.25"/1.2 MB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
3.5"/720 KB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
3.5"/2.88 MB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
Print screen service is supported (int 5h)
8042 keyboard services are supported (int 9h)
Serial services are supported (int 14h)
Printer services are supported (int 17h)
CGA/mono video services are supported (int 10h)
ACPI is supported
USB legacy is supported
AGP is supported
LS-120 boot is supported
ATAPI Zip drive boot is supported
BIOS boot specification is supported
Targeted content distribution is supported

Handle 0x002D, DMI type 13, 22 bytes
BIOS Language Information
Installable Languages: 3
n|US|iso8859-1
n|US|iso8859-1
r|CA|iso8859-1
Currently Installed Language: n|US|iso8859-1
for the last one i get:


# dmidecode 2.9
SMBIOS 2.4 present.

Handle 0x0002, DMI type 2, 8 bytes
Base Board Information
Manufacturer: ASUSTeK Computer INC.
Product Name: M2A-VM
Version: 1.XX
Serial Number: 123456789000

sparkplug619
August 6th, 2010, 09:18 AM
THIS IS WHAT I GOT AFTER BIOS UPDATE


first one:



# dmidecode 2.9
SMBIOS 2.4 present.

Handle 0x0000, DMI type 0, 24 bytes
BIOS Information
Vendor: Phoenix Technologies, LTD
Version: ASUS M2A-VM ACPI BIOS Revision 5001
Release Date: 02/04/2010
Address: 0xE0000
Runtime Size: 128 kB
ROM Size: 1024 kB
Characteristics:
ISA is supported
PCI is supported
PNP is supported
APM is supported
BIOS is upgradeable
BIOS shadowing is allowed
Boot from CD is supported
Selectable boot is supported
BIOS ROM is socketed
EDD is supported
5.25"/360 KB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
5.25"/1.2 MB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
3.5"/720 KB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
3.5"/2.88 MB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
Print screen service is supported (int 5h)
8042 keyboard services are supported (int 9h)
Serial services are supported (int 14h)
Printer services are supported (int 17h)
CGA/mono video services are supported (int 10h)
ACPI is supported
USB legacy is supported
AGP is supported
LS-120 boot is supported
ATAPI Zip drive boot is supported
BIOS boot specification is supported
Targeted content distribution is supported

Handle 0x002D, DMI type 13, 22 bytes
BIOS Language Information
Installable Languages: 3
n|US|iso8859-1
n|US|iso8859-1
r|CA|iso8859-1
Currently Installed Language: n|US|iso8859-1


second one:



# dmidecode 2.9
SMBIOS 2.4 present.

Handle 0x0002, DMI type 2, 8 bytes
Base Board Information
Manufacturer: ASUSTeK Computer INC.
Product Name: M2A-VM
Version: 1.XX
Serial Number: 123456789000

sparkplug619
August 6th, 2010, 09:59 AM
I may have found a potential problem. I just uninstalled everything alsa related and when I was reinstalling it, I just used a driver I got from the realtek website and never actually chose my own. I followed a guide on here and installed my correct driver, Im now just waiting for it to finish up to see if it solves most of my problems or not.

sparkplug619
August 6th, 2010, 11:59 PM
Well I reinstalled alsa with my correct driver but now, like before, im only getting sound out of 1 audio jack. The method I used to get both to work last time didnt work this time

lidex
August 7th, 2010, 03:45 AM
Try this. Using a Terminal="Applications->Accessories->Terminal"
Open this file for editing:

gksudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
Insert this line at the bottom:

options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-6ch
Save. Close. Reboot. Check your levels in alsamixer.

alsamixer
Press <F6> to select the correct soundcard.
Press <F3> to show playback levels. <F4> selects capture levels [or use <Tab>]
Use the left/right arrow keys to select and up/down arrow keys to change levels. <M> to mute/unmute.
Go to "System ->Preferences ->Sound" and make sure the correct soundcard is default and adjust your profile on the hardware tab. On the output tab choose the correct device.

sparkplug619
August 7th, 2010, 04:17 AM
Oh man your great.. it works perfectly! Thank you so much!

It seems to have combined the front channel with the sub though so the sub is still putting out all audio and not just lowpass.

When I did a speaker test, the sub and the speakers play on front-left and front right and nothing else. maybe an asoundrc file can fix this?

sparkplug619
August 7th, 2010, 05:09 AM
Ok Im soo close. In 'sound preference' I am able to control the fade and the subwoofer volume all in one. Ive never been able to do this before.

The problem now is that the adjusting the subwoofer knob negatively affects the front speakers. When lowering it, it leaves a very low screechy sound.

My asoundrc file looks like this




pcm.hda-intel {
type hw
card 0
}

ctl.hda-intel {
type hw
card 0
}


pcm.upmix_20to51 {
type plug
slave.pcm lowpass_21to21
slave.channels 3
ttable {
0.0 1 # left channel
1.1 1 # right channel
0.2 0.5 # mix left and right ...
1.5 0.5 # ... channel for subwoofer
}
}

pcm.lowpass_21to21 {
type ladspa
slave.pcm upmix_21to51
path "/usr/lib/ladspa"
channels 3
plugins {
0 {
id 1098 # Identity (Audio) (1098/identity_audio)
policy duplicate
input.bindings.0 "Input";
output.bindings.0 "Output";
}
1 {
id 1672 # 4 Pole Low-Pass Filter with Resonance (FCRCIA) (1672/lp4pole_fcrcia_oa)
policy none
input.bindings.2 "Input";
output.bindings.2 "Output";
input {
controls [ 300 2 ]
}
}
}
}

pcm.upmix_21to51 {
type plug
slave.pcm surround51
slave.channels 6
ttable {
0.0 1 # front left
1.1 1 # front right
0.2 1 # rear left
1.3 1 # rear right
0.4 0.5 # center
1.4 0.5 # center
2.5 1 # subwoofer
}
}

lidex
August 7th, 2010, 05:09 PM
Not my area of expertise but maybe you can get some ideas from the System-Wide Equalizer section here:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=789578
Asoundrc here:
http://alsa.opensrc.org/index.php/.asoundrc

sparkplug619
August 8th, 2010, 08:04 AM
everytime I restart my computer, the sub stops working