PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] dual boot ubuntu 10.04 and windows 7 on HP pavilion a6750t

CWB33
August 3rd, 2010, 11:01 AM
Absolute newbie to Ubuntu....I spent all weekend trying to install Ubuntu 10.04 on my HP pavilion a6750t, but had no success. the problem as I understand it is with the raid setup on the system. I have two drives on it set up in a raid 0 configuration, I want to keep my Windows 7 on it and install Ubuntu too, any advice on how to successfully do this would be greatly appreciated.

ajgreeny
August 3rd, 2010, 11:29 AM
Use the Alternate Install CD to do the job. I think that is the only way to deal with a raid setup.
http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop/get-ubuntu/alternative-download

ronparent
August 3rd, 2010, 04:45 PM
I would advise any newbie not to try installing 10.04 to a raid. It is doable but if you don't understand the pitfalls and traps it may be more trouble than it is worth.

You could perhaps easier do the install on an external usb drive to play with it awhile. If you are serious that would also give you a chance to research the raid issues before committing your self to it.

Mark Phelps
August 3rd, 2010, 08:51 PM
Absolute newbie to Ubuntu....I spent all weekend trying to install Ubuntu 10.04 on my HP pavilion a6750t, but had no success. the problem as I understand it is with the raid setup on the system. I have two drives on it set up in a raid 0 configuration, I want to keep my Windows 7 on it and install Ubuntu too, any advice on how to successfully do this would be greatly appreciated.

Before you install Ubuntu, be sure to open the Win7 Disk Management utility and shrink the Win7 OS partition to make room for Ubuntu. Don't format the resulting free space but leave it unallocated.

Also, be sure to use the Win7 Backup feature to create and burn a Win9 Repair CD. You will need this later to repair the Win7 loader if that becomes damaged as a byproduct of the Ubuntu install.