PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubuntu 10.04 cant surf the internet

Bugsy_malone 666
August 2nd, 2010, 09:57 PM
Hi, I'm new to linux and have just started to play with ubuntu.

started off months ago with 8.04, installed on to a machine (desktop) and it was great, then 9.04, then 9.10 and I sort of installed this to play with but when I got to 9.10 I had issues with network connectivity, then I got some drivers and that was ok.

So then I now have a Lenovo X61s Laptop which I used 9.04 to set the machine up with and then upgraded to 9.10 then 10.04 (thinking it would be best to start off by updating everything as far as I can before I start playing and learning)

so the machine can see my wireless network, I downloaded the 10.04 upgrade through it (taking over 3 hours :O ) then I can download software through the software centre meaning it can use the wireless network, but for some reason it wont surf the internet?

I open firefox (think its 3.6) and it just says it has problems connecting to the server or that it cant find it or that its taking to long.

I am brand new to linux so I have no idea what I am doing yet (I write this from my windows 7 desktop PC)

Any helpers and pointers for a newbie :)

TheNerdAL
August 2nd, 2010, 10:07 PM
Just to make sure it isn't the internet, but the browser, try installing Chromium from the Ubuntu Software Center. If you can't then try giving us the output of this:

lspci -v | less

Or this for a USB device that you may use to access the internet:

lsusb

Bugsy_malone 666
August 2nd, 2010, 10:18 PM
Ah ha!

I did have a look thought software and didnt really find different browsers the first time, but installing google chrome seems to work at a normal speed on the internet.

I did find it a bit odd that firefox that is shipped with 10.04 didnt work yet everything else did!

Cheers for your help :)

Question now is why doesnt firefox work?

RMuscaritolo
August 2nd, 2010, 10:25 PM
Ah ha!

Question now is why doesnt firefox work?