PDA

View Full Version : Best way to get into open source development?

nautica17
August 1st, 2010, 09:52 PM
I hope I'm posting this in the right place. I'm a second year college student studying computer science and engineering, and I've been eager lately to get into open source development. The problem that I always run into however is that with my inexperience with large development projects (like Ubuntu) is that it gets overwhelming with so many files to look at, that I just get lost and don't know where to even begin. So, I was wondering if someone could point me to some open source programs/code that are not so large, or at least really complex. I want something that an intermediate programmer like myself could get into and at least practice on until I get good enough to work on projects like Ubuntu. Any tips are welcome. :)

Lucradia
August 2nd, 2010, 12:33 AM
get a python book from your library. Read some of it.

nautica17
August 2nd, 2010, 01:03 AM
get a python book from your library. Read some of it.
A lot of code that I see is written C though. That is especially the case for Linux. Although I have looked into python lately.

phrostbyte
August 2nd, 2010, 01:07 AM
Have you taken any courses on computer programming in college yet?

nautica17
August 2nd, 2010, 01:14 AM
Have you taken any courses on computer programming in college yet?

I have yes. I have a basic understanding of how classes/structs work. In the fall we're going to go into further detail. And I'm also going to be taking an assembly language course as well, so I hope that helps me understand hardware better.

Edit: My courses are centered around C++ and OOP.

Dustin2128
August 2nd, 2010, 01:29 AM
still, python is a wonderful place to start. It's a well structured, widespread, and powerful programming language.

lunix-
August 2nd, 2010, 01:30 AM