PDA

View Full Version : Why did you learn to program?

VH-BIL
July 27th, 2010, 02:03 PM
I started programming when I was 12 on a TRS80 because I was given it with no software. Every time it was turned off I had to make a new game or something.

I then got into C64 BASIC and machine coding it. On the Amiga I wrote Amiga BASIC, AMOS, BLITZ, Lattice C, but mainly assembly code.

On PC I have used many BASIC languages (I dont like the structure of BASIC, it is messy), Borland C++ for many years, Pearl, PHP, Java, Javascript, etc but now I use C# for work.

What is your story?

RiceMonster
July 27th, 2010, 02:06 PM
I took a programming class in highschool inwhich we used an educational language called Turing. I enjoyed it, so I decided to take it in college as well.

I know:
PHP
Javascript
Java
VB.NET
Perl
C/C++
COBOL (Yes, I know COBOL, unfortunatley)

smellyman
July 27th, 2010, 02:08 PM
TRIED to learn to program many times. courses, self teaching etc. for job development.

still suck at it. :)

endotherm
July 27th, 2010, 02:13 PM
in College I was trying to study network engineering, and everyone had to take some classes on flowcharting and basic Assembler. I found that I liked it, and that the more network and server admin based courses were not as satisfying. its all just stuff i could learn from a CCNA or MCSE study guide. as the certs I had at the time were all self-study, it didn't make sense to pay someone to teach me those topics, but I needed a degree...

wojox
July 27th, 2010, 02:16 PM
Boardom. Taught myself C and advanced from there.

endotherm
July 27th, 2010, 02:19 PM
COBOL (Yes, I know COBOL, unfortunatley)
we had to take 4 quarters of COBOL. I joined my degree program just before they modernized the requirements. there are several big IT employers in my burg that at the time used large mainframes, primarily running COBOL apps, so those skills remained pertinent long after they should have passed into obsolescense.

VH-BIL
July 27th, 2010, 02:25 PM