PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] installing WoW

meksikan
July 27th, 2010, 05:28 AM
i'm sorry as i'm sure this has been brought up, but i need some help. i'm pretty new to ubuntu and i need some help if anyone can. anyways.. here's my problem:

i was taking a look at the wow installation guide and am already having a problem with the very first thing that has to do with direct rendering. i typed the command it stated but it doesn't tell me anything and just starts a new line. next thing i tried was glxinfo and it says

name of display: :0.0
Segmentation fault

here's where i'm stumped, i have tried searching the forums but i don't think i've found the right solution as to enable direct rendering. i don't know if i have multiple video drivers installed that may be conflicting with one another or what. i have read about video cards being black listed from something called compiz but i don't know if that applies to my situation or not.

i have tried going to system>administration>hardware drivers, but nothing about video card drivers pops up there. the onlything that pops up on the list is for "broadcom b43 wireless driver."

i have also tried running the compiz command in terminal, but it said something about fatal errors or whatever. i'm sorry if i haven't provided enough info, but i'm just going based off what i can remember trying. i'm 70% certain of going back to windows just for gaming, even tho i would like not to.

TL;DR
i would like to play wow by enabling direct rendering, heh.

P4man
July 27th, 2010, 08:49 AM
Sounds like your problem is the videodrivers. What videocard do you have? If you are unsure; open a terminal and type

lspci

and copy paste the output here.

meksikan
July 27th, 2010, 05:19 PM
heres my result:

gabe@gabe-desktop:~$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb Host Bridge (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb LPC Bridge (rev a2)