PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] CUPS PDF Print Problem

mainak_sen
July 26th, 2010, 07:01 AM
I have been using Hardy for last 2 years and there were no problems and I used the print to PDF (by selecting PDF as my default printer) option very often. Ever since I upgraded to Lucid last week this is not working any longer. Even the "Print Test Page" option is not working. The various error messages I am getting are given below.
Interestingly, I have upgraded to Lucid in another machine and there also I am getting the same errors.

I shall greatly appreciate if someone could help us!

Thanks in advance!

----Error Messages-----

Print Error: There was a problem printing document 'Test Page' (job 76: 'Stopping job because the scheduler could not execute the backend.'

Stopped - Printer Configuration error

Status Messages: There is a missing print filter for printer 'PDF

cside
September 15th, 2010, 07:42 PM
I had a similar problem, and I found that at some point Cups-PDF became uninstalled. I reselected the package, possibly just remark it for installation in Synaptic and see if this resolves your problem. Once mine was installed it all work.

jaygo
October 20th, 2010, 10:06 AM
It seems obvious now but I didn't think to check if that package was still installed; for some reason, the upgrade to 10.10 went out of its way to uninstall cups-pdf. Thanks!

neiljansons
October 25th, 2010, 07:08 AM
cups-pdf printing was working fine with 10.04 but the upgrade to 10.10 trashed it.
I have tried uninstalling & reinstalling with no joy
any ideas?

Bucky Ball
November 8th, 2010, 09:16 AM
Same prob. I have cups-pdf installed and no different. Prints test page, PDF takes forever (30 minutes?) and the result is a garbled mess.

Anyone had any success? I'm using 10.10.

ps: My understanding was cups-pdf is an app. for printing a text file to a pdf file rather than a printer, not printing a pdf file to a printer.

crazybilly
November 19th, 2010, 04:47 AM