PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Karmic GRUB issue on dual-boot system

mtbills
July 26th, 2010, 06:03 AM
Okay, this GRUB issue has been killing me. I'm a GRUB novice, unfortunately, but I have spent enough time trawling through various other threads without finding a solution that I decided to finally post my own.

First, my system is a 7-year old Dell tower. Two hard drives, each sliced up into a bunch of ~30 GB partitions. I dual-boot WinXP and Ubuntu Karmic Koala 9.10. I think I have GRUB2, but don't know how to check without being able to boot.

This problem arose during a standard upgrade when I didn't pay attention and GRUB updated and apparently destroyed itself. Now when I boot my system, I get the following message:

Booting from local disk...
GRUB loading.
error: no such disk
grub rescue>

Almost every fix I found in my searching involved:

grub> find /boot/grub/stage1
but none of the solutions said what to do if that file wasn't found. Then I found this thread:
http://ubuntu-virginia.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=8730926
that suggested that fix wouldn't work with my system anyway, so maybe that's why I've had so much trouble.

When I boot from my Ubuntu install DVD, I can mount my various partitions and browse their filesystems, so it appears that my data is all still intact, I just can't get to it. What should I try next?

Thanks in advance for your help.

krishnandu.sarkar
July 26th, 2010, 06:20 AM
Boot from Live CD/DVD and re-install grub sudo apt-get install grub and then sudo update grub

bcbc
July 26th, 2010, 06:37 AM
Okay, this GRUB issue has been killing me. I'm a GRUB novice, unfortunately, but I have spent enough time trawling through various other threads without finding a solution that I decided to finally post my own.