PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help with installation

Eagle-Six
July 25th, 2010, 03:32 AM
I am a newb with linux but want to dual boot my laptop with vista and ubuntu. If I try to partition the c drive when installing it says that I have no operating systems and I have to partition the whole c drive. If I try to install alongside windows in windows, when it restarts in Ubuntu during setup it says no root or boot directory and wont go any farther. Any help wopuld be grateful. Thanks!!

Goolie
July 25th, 2010, 03:35 AM
I am a newb with linux but want to dual boot my laptop with vista and ubuntu. If I try to partition the c drive when installing it says that I have no operating systems and I have to partition the whole c drive. If I try to install alongside windows in windows, when it restarts in Ubuntu during setup it says no root or boot directory and wont go any farther. Any help wopuld be grateful. Thanks!!

Before you install Ubuntu, have you backed-up / defragged your windows partition?

Also, you could try partitioning the drive from outside the installer, i.e. in Windows, and try booting and installing to that newly created partition.

Eagle-Six
July 25th, 2010, 03:39 AM
I did. I even used acronis disk director suite to partition am 80 gb area for the install. I burned the ISO to disc, tried to boot to install. But when installation starts after I choose time zone i ckicked manually choose partition but it says I have no operating system installed like its a complete empty hard drive.

Goolie
July 25th, 2010, 03:43 AM
I did. I even used acronis disk director suite to partition am 80 gb area for the install. I burned the ISO to disc, tried to boot to install. But when installation starts after I choose time zone i ckicked manually choose partition but it says I have no operating system installed like its a complete empty hard drive.

So you're seeing only ONE possible place to install Ubuntu? There isn't any other options as to where to install the OS?