PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Win-XP under Linux 10.4

Desert Sailor
July 22nd, 2010, 08:01 PM
I am still a newb when it comes to Linux, but am running 10.4 and earlier versions for about 2 years. I love Linux more and more. However, there are some backward companies who refuse to provide Linux software, Intuit, (I have used WINE to run Quicken), but can't seem to get the Garmin map downloader to work in anything but windoes. For these cretin companies, I have had a dual boot machine with Windows XP on a separate partition.

I have recently installed VirtualBox on my Linux and I see that I can install Win-XP as a virtual system.

My question: I would like to eliminate the Windows partition totally, and just use Virtual Box for my windows applications. Is this a true Windows install, will it run ANY windows software? Can I totally eliminate a separate Windows partition and not have problems?

Thanks....

ajgreeny
July 22nd, 2010, 08:27 PM
I would like to eliminate the Windows partition totally, and just use Virtual Box for my windows applications.
Is this a true Windows install, will it run ANY windows software?
The answer to that is just about a firm "Yes", though there are some games that play on windows and will not play properly in VB bacause windows will be using the graphics ability of ubuntu and not that of windows, so highly demanding games may not work totally. For almost everything else it is fine.

Can I totally eliminate a separate Windows partition and not have problems?
I think so, yes.

dabl
July 22nd, 2010, 09:24 PM
I use VMware, rather than VBox, but they both provide a full virtual environment, so "YES", it is really Windows running in the VM.