PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] Linux Beginner - Destop themes

Ezzn
July 22nd, 2010, 03:31 PM
Hello Everyone...

I'm new to Linux and I wanted to customize my desktop. After looking through the internet, I have become confused on how and what themes to download. There are so many choices, Compiz, GTX, Metacity, and the list goes on. I'm using Ubuntu 9.10 and my questions is, What is the best to customize my desktop? I want to be able to select a theme and the appearance, icons, fonts, etc change. I'm not sure what Ubuntu 9.10 uses as a theme manager either.

Please help

Thank you

Ezzn :p

Cavsfan
July 22nd, 2010, 03:37 PM
Checkout some youtube videos of cairo-dock and compiz. That way you can see what they do first.
These are my preferences and I have tried Docky and AWN and came back to cairo-dock.

WinRiddance
July 22nd, 2010, 04:26 PM
It really depends on your own definition of customizing too.

I'm really busy and I don't have time to play around endlessly with new docks and bars and settings and effects and and and ... oh my gosh you can waste a whole weekend with that kind'a stuff ... :D

If you're new to Linux I'd recommend downloading complete themes for Gnome which is default for Ubuntu. After that, change your desktop background first, to something that you think is absolutely incredible to look at, some picture that is so awesome that you won't mind looking at it for a long time to come. Great backgrounds are also available here:

http://gnome-look.org/
And here ... http://art.gnome.org/themes
As well as here ... http://gnome-themes.org/

But aside from a killer background picture you really don't need anything else since Ubuntu has everything built in. Once you have your desired background picture, build the rest of your theme on your own, simply by RIGHT CLICKING on an empty space of your desktop, followed by selecting - CHANGE DESKTOP BACKGROUND.