PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How can i install the b43 driver for my BCM4311 chipset?

sqvelasquez
July 20th, 2010, 12:34 PM
I really need help with this. I have been working with it and i just cant figure it out. Im a noob on working with command lines and linux in general. I run Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx.

I get this as my lspci output:
0b:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN (rev 01)

for iwconfig eth1 (which is my wlan card) i get:
eth1 IEEE 802.11 Access Point: Not-Associated
Link Quality:5 Signal level:215 Noise level:199
Rx invalid nwid:0 invalid crypt:116 invalid misc:0
Can anyone help?

lechien73
July 20th, 2010, 03:32 PM
I had the same problem, I'm just trying to remember how I fixed it!!

In System > Preferences > Software Sources, check the box that says "Software restricted by copyright or legal issues (multiverse)" and click "Close". Your repositories will update.

Then go to Applications > Ubuntu Software Centre. Search for, and install, the package named "b43-fwcutter". On my system b43-fwcutter was already installed, but I don't know if this was by accident or design :)

Now open a terminal window and type:

sudo modprobe -r wl
sudo modprobe b43

As far as I remember, that is the procedure I used. iwconfig now reports the correct values.

sqvelasquez
July 20th, 2010, 07:38 PM
thanks! I already had b43-fwcutter so that saved some time. But when I put in the code, there was no output and when I checked the iwconfig, my card isn't even showing up

JackNocturne
July 20th, 2010, 08:32 PM
Ok so u have already b43 fwcutter,thats good. Are you trying to connect to your access point(router perhaps) or?

if that is the case then

iwconfig eth1 essid [Name of Access point] channel [Number of channel] key [WEP/WPA password if you have]then

dhclient eth1 this gives you an IP address

sqvelasquez
July 21st, 2010, 01:22 AM