PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] System 76 - ubuntu 10.04 - panp7 - modem

Der_Kommissar
July 20th, 2010, 12:43 AM
Recently my organization purchased quite a few of the Pangolin Performance laptops (panp7) to send to areas around the South Pacific. I'm brand new to the world of Ubuntu, having only had a very limited exposure to LINUX about 10 years ago. Please bear with me if I'm asking simple questions so far. I really like Ubuntu in the month and a half I've been using it!

So... how the heck do I enable the modem? I took a look at my "Ubuntu Unleashed" book and fiddled with the Network connections but I can't seem to find the magic button. If I try to add a wired connection Ubuntu seems to think I mean Ethernet and doesn't give me the option for a modem.

Thanks in advance!

isantop
July 20th, 2010, 05:00 PM
The modem in the PanP7 is not supported by Ubuntu, and we can't make it work. However, we have heard that several customers like this (http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-Details.asp?EdpNo=3718719&sku=U13-4292&srkey=USRobotics%20USR5637) one, which works out of the box.

------INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS------
1. Insert an Ubuntu live CD.
2. Go to System > Administration > Software Sources and enable "CD ROM", click "Close" and then click "Reload."
3. Open a terminal (Applications > Accessories > Terminal) and run...

sudo apt-get install gnome-ppp

4. If you are running Ubuntu 9.10 or above, also run...

sudo apt-get remove modemmanager

5. Plug USB modem into a USB port of the computer and connect it to a telephone jack.
6. Go to System > Preferences > Main Menu and locate the Gnome PPP entry (it will be under Applications > Internet). Highlight Gnome PPP and click properties. Change the command to...
gksu "gnome-ppp" and click OK.
6. Go to Applications > Internet > Gnome PPP. You will be prompted for a password. Once Gnome-ppp opens, click the "Setup" button. Then click the "Detect" button. Most likely the settings will change to...