PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] 10.04 package refuses to update/remove

cap_tain
July 19th, 2010, 01:21 AM
Hello

I have been using Ubuntu for about four years now, but was stuck on an older version, kubuntu 8.10, for most of that time due to unresolvable graphics card issues. I resently found work arounds for my issues with ubuntu 10.04 and reinstalled my system after about a week and a half of careful research.

after finishing the os installation the package "humanity-icon-theme" would not upgrade to version 0.5.2 and it would not allow me to remove it. If I try to install anything other package dpkg will first try to update "humanity-icon-theme" and fail. the package manager dies and tells me to run "sudo dpkg --configure -a" The system will often not allow this command to run until I reboot my system.

I can't use my computer if I cannot install and update programs.

My computer is a Gateway MT3705 laptop

the commands that I have tried to use to remove this package are
sudo dpkg --clear-avail && sudo apt-get update
sudo dpkg purge --force-all humanity-icon-package
And a few others. I will post them as I remember them.

please help.

thanks

---If this is in the wrong place on the forums please let me know where I should have created it. thanks

cap_tain
July 20th, 2010, 10:07 PM
Hello? Help?

drs305
July 20th, 2010, 10:10 PM
Please give us the exact error message you get when you try to run "sudo apt-get update", "sudo apt-get upgrade" or whatever the command is that generates the message.

cap_tain
July 20th, 2010, 10:57 PM
on running "apt-get upgrade"

dpkg: error while cleaning up:
unable to restore backup version of `/usr/share/icons/Humanity/apps/32/system-users.svg': Read-only file system
unable to restore backup version of `/usr/share/icons/Humanity/apps/32/xfce4-weather.png': Read-only file system
unable to restore backup version of `/usr/share/icons/Humanity/apps/32/invest-applet.svg': Read-only file system