PDA

View Full Version : Developing GNOME Applications

FieldDoc
July 18th, 2010, 01:10 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Ubunutu (having come from OS X) and I'm very impressed. I'm a hobbyist programmer but fairly fluent in Objective-C (and thus C) and some Java.

I have several ideas for applications that I would like to write for the Linux community. I would like them to look 'native' on Ubuntu which I assume means they should be written using GTK+ frameworks? I have been thinking about writing in Java as it would be good to improve my skills in that language and Android apps are written in it to (something I'd like to do at a later date).

How should I go about getting started? I've come from using the only development IDE on the Mac (Xcode). I believe I need to use the java-gnome bindings and I see that NetBeans and Eclipse are popular IDEs on Linux.

What would people recommend?

Thanks,

FieldDoc

nvteighen
July 18th, 2010, 01:45 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Ubunutu (having come from OS X) and I'm very impressed. I'm a hobbyist programmer but fairly fluent in Objective-C (and thus C) and some Java.

I have several ideas for applications that I would like to write for the Linux community. I would like them to look 'native' on Ubuntu which I assume means they should be written using GTK+ frameworks? I have been thinking about writing in Java as it would be good to improve my skills in that language and Android apps are written in it to (something I'd like to do at a later date).

How should I go about getting started? I've come from using the only development IDE on the Mac (Xcode). I believe I need to use the java-gnome bindings and I see that NetBeans and Eclipse are popular IDEs on Linux.

What would people recommend?

Thanks,

FieldDoc

Welcome!

Ok, let's see... In GNU/Linux you'll soon find that usually your issue is that you have too many choices :D