PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Lucid Lynx can't find files to boot

Alexis Phoenix
July 15th, 2010, 11:15 AM
I upgraded Karmic to Lucid 2 days ago, rebooted, and the system (a Dell Inspiron 1501 AMD 64 laptop) hung just after running fsck. The last message was from ureadahead, error 4, 3 times, which means AFAICT it couldn't find any files to boot on my 3 partitions, /, swap and /home. Before that there are some warnings about changes to udev affecting user defined devices, and upgrading my applications to use ext4 (the fs is ext3).

I've looked at other people's similar problems, and it appears that I am alone in this. I'm using Syslinux rescue to investigate my system and can't find anything obviously wrong. Nothing is being written to the log files - the last thing I have is the main upgrade log. I can get some kind of info with magic sysrq, but don't understand it since I'm not a programmer.

I ran fsck from Syslinux and it ran fine. My fstab looks fine too - no errors to suggest otherwise either.

It looks like the boot process is getting lost when the main startup is supposed to run - hence I can't even get into single user mode.

I hope someone can help me - I really, really don't want to have to wipe my / and do a fresh intall!

Many thanks
Alexis

dabl
July 15th, 2010, 01:43 PM
Are you sure that fsck completed successfully? Does your syslinux handle the ext4 filesystem? If you're not certain, I would advise making a Parted Magic Live CD, and use that to fsck the hard drive again, and make sure it completes with no errors, then try a reboot.

Since the Parted Magic CD also has a GUI tool for checking the hard drive (SMART), you might as well run that too, and make sure the hard drive is up to spec.

Alexis Phoenix
July 16th, 2010, 12:48 PM
Hmmm,

root@sysresccd /root % e2fsck -p /dev/sda5
/dev/sda5: clean, 352684/1414272 files, 2384189/2827432 blocks
root@sysresccd /root % e2fsck -f /dev/sda5
e2fsck 1.41.8 (11-July-2009)