PDA

View Full Version : What do your friends/family think of Ubuntu?

Cam!
July 13th, 2010, 02:59 AM
Curious question. What do your friends and family think of Ubuntu, or Linux as a whole?

My friends used to think that Linux was some sort of archaic, unnecessary OS that didn't even have a GUI (Command line only). After explaining Ubuntu to them, as well as showing screenshot(s) of my desktop, their minds changed. They still prefer Windows/Mac OS, because of iTunes and Steam. XD.

My family, on the other hand, is weary of it. I installed it on my brother's computer, and he dislikes it a LOT.

WinterRain
July 13th, 2010, 03:08 AM
If anyone I know is even aware of ubuntu, they are probably using it. Once you know, you ubuntu.

BrokenKingpin
July 13th, 2010, 03:10 AM
I am a computer programmer where half my company uses Ubuntu. I also got my wife's dad using it, and he loves it.

tjwoosta
July 13th, 2010, 03:23 AM
I had ubuntu on both my parents and my sisters computers back around ubuntu 6.04. They didnt really care one way or the other so long as they could do standard tasks (browse web, check email, word processing, etc..). Obviously theyre not very picky about which apps they use and have no need for itunes or steam.

Over time ubuntu became too heavy to run on 256mb ram, so I had to switch over to debian stable. Theyve been using debian stable with xfce for a couple years now and have never complained. Actually they said they love it because it never crashes or freezes up like XP used to. I always do all their updates and installing software and stuff for them over ssh though, Im not sure theyd be able to handle it themselves.

Ive noticed recently however that even debian stable is starting to become a bit too heavy to run comfortably on 256mb so its probably about time for a hardware upgrade to keep up with the software.

Timmer1240
July 13th, 2010, 03:24 AM