PDA

View Full Version : Fixing problems in Microsoft?

chaman1
July 12th, 2010, 05:07 AM
Whenever I try to solve a problem with my Microsoft computer on the Internet, I notice that almost always the suggestion is to back-up your data and do a clean re-install/restore to factory settings, etc...

I'm a total noob when it comes to computers (I felt so smart when I managed to dual-boot Linux). I'm just wondering if most of Window's problems have to be solved through re-installation? I haven't tried, but if I bring my computers to "so-called" computer repair shops, is this what most of them would suggest to do as well?

themusicalduck
July 12th, 2010, 05:11 AM
I don't remember ever really having to reinstall Windows to fix a specific problem too often, although I probably did at some point.

Even so, I still reinstalled it about every 6 months to get rid of slowdowns and to just start with a nice fresh install.

I don't feel the need to do that in Ubuntu, but I still do anyway because I want to use the latest release :p (direct upgrades don't usually work so well for me..)

carlexpc
July 12th, 2010, 05:24 AM
Windows' performance drifts as time goes by. It's worth shifting to Linux.

Redo
July 12th, 2010, 05:35 AM
Fixing Windows after bouts of malware can take far more time than backing up and reinstalling (though most viruses mean TKO, and a format is in order). Even after getting everything back to functioning normal, it still wont have the same speed as a fresh install.

I've spent days tracking down and ridding Windows systems of malware, just to get it back to functioning normally. A format and install takes an hour or so depending. Repair shops would much rather do a fresh install.

Linux is completely different. Speedy, stable, and reliable (so long as you don't choose KDE :P)

smellyman
July 12th, 2010, 05:38 AM
I don't mind backing up and reinstalling any OS.