PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem Converting Zune wma to mp3

maxzorin73
July 11th, 2010, 05:53 PM
I am new to Ubuntu after switching from Windows Vista. So far I really like it. I am trying to convert music in wma format that I purchased on Zune to mp3 format so that I can play it in Rhythm Box and use it on a SanDisk Fuze that I recently purchased. I installed Sound Convert. Sound Convert works fine when converting wma files that were created from ripping CD's. However, it freezes when trying to convert wma files that were purchased from Zune. Also if I try to double click on one of the wma files to play it with movie player, I get an error message saying that the file is encrypted and decryption is not supported.

I did find a converter on Windows that works. However, it was a trial version that only converts 90 secs. The full version costs $25. I do not feel that I should have to pay for music that I have already paid for. The music was purchased a la carte from Zune (not with the monthly pass).

Does anyone know of a workaround to free my Zune music so I can access it on Ubuntu?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Naitsirhc Hsem
July 11th, 2010, 06:00 PM
I would try Audacity with the Lame mp3 plugin, both available in the software center

gandaran
July 11th, 2010, 06:26 PM
I am new to Ubuntu after switching from Windows Vista. So far I really like it. I am trying to convert music in wma format that I purchased on Zune to mp3 format so that I can play it in Rhythm Box and use it on a SanDisk Fuze that I recently purchased. I installed Sound Convert. Sound Convert works fine when converting wma files that were created from ripping CD's. However, it freezes when trying to convert wma files that were purchased from Zune. Also if I try to double click on one of the wma files to play it with movie player, I get an error message saying that the file is encrypted and decryption is not supported.