PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgrade and Installation without Internet

srikrishnan
July 11th, 2010, 09:53 AM
Hi all,

I have no internet connection in my home. I have installed Ubuntu 10.04 LTS through CD in my system. Now I want to make updates and new software installations in my system. Is it possible by getting the updates and softwares from other system through pen drive and install it in my home system?

I am a very beginner to Linux. Can anybody help me by explaining the procedure in detail?

Thanks in Advance,
Srikrishnan

labinnsw
July 12th, 2010, 12:15 PM
Now I want to make updates and new software installations in my system. Is it possible by getting the updates and softwares from other system through pen drive and install it in my home system?

Yes. Keep your installation CD handy in case of dependencies and get .deb packages. They are the easiest for the new comer.

srikrishnan
July 14th, 2010, 11:50 AM
Hi,

Thanks for your reply,

But I am not able to understand what you are said in your mail. Can you explain some more in detail?

Thanks,
Srikrishnan

labinnsw
July 14th, 2010, 12:57 PM
Say for example you want to install Skype.
A.1.Search for skype (at www.google.com)
A.2. Follow the resultant links to the package.
(in this case download >> download Skype >> Download Now >> Ubuntu 8.10+ 32-bit or Ubuntu 8.10+ 64-bit)
The file should have a name ending in .deb (just like Windows packages end with .exe) the current Skype package is skype-ubuntu-intrepid_2.1.0.81-1_i386 for a 32-bit system.
A.3. Save the package to your portable storage medium.
A.4. Once on your system, to install the file double click on it.

If there are any unsatisfied prerequisites, you will get an error message indicating what is required. These can usually be found on the installation CD and will also end with .deb.
B.1 Using nautilus (the gnome file browser), search the installation disc.
B.2. Double click to install these packages also.

srikrishnan
July 16th, 2010, 10:56 AM