View Full Version : [ubuntu] Black Screen when trying install

dcfc91
July 10th, 2010, 10:50 PM
I'm trying to boot ubuntu netbook 10.04 off a USB stick onto a Laptop

Dell Latitude D505
Windows XP Pro
Intel Pentium M 1.60GHz
512mb RAM

When I boot the Ubuntu Graphic comes up and then the screen goes black and stays that way, anyone have any ideas for a fix. The laptop is former corporate computer that has all sorts of crap on there, the owner didn't know the passwords or anything but I was able to get into it with a little work[did I mention that Novell sucks]. Anyway it's completely messed up and I just want to clean it off and get Ubuntu on there. Oh and BTW I'm a Linux noob so take it easy on me, thanks.

dcfc91
July 11th, 2010, 12:04 AM
I tried to install it within windows to see if it would work there and joy there either, it says ''An Error Occurred: Cannot Download the metalink and therefore the ISO

dcfc91
July 11th, 2010, 02:13 PM
I burned it to a disk and again the same thing happened, I would REALLY appreciate any help, thanks.

dcfc91
July 11th, 2010, 05:15 PM
I am now getting message that says the BOOTMGR is missing

DavidLR
July 11th, 2010, 05:41 PM
HI,
I have exactly the same problem. Will apreciate any help at all.

In my case Ubuntu ran fine from the CD I burned - as soon as I installed it, I get purple scree wiyj circle logo, then "Booting...." then blqank screen and flashing cursor, then no cursor. I've waited 2 hours so it's not a "slow" process!

Thanks

dcfc91
July 11th, 2010, 11:03 PM
Okay so I tried both the USB stick[I used unetbootin] and the CD again and I got a message that says GLib-WARNING **: getpwuid_r(): failed due to unknown user id, that was with both the CD and the USB.

NFA
July 26th, 2010, 11:35 AM
Was there any solution to this problem?