PDA

View Full Version : Cross platforms editor with complex GUI

KillKRT
July 10th, 2010, 11:34 AM
Hi!

I'd like develop an application with a complex GUI (combobox with animation, charts with spline, transparent layers, ...). I have a good experience with C# 2.0 and I'm studying WPF.
Unfortunately I read that there is no plan to port WPF on Mono :icon_frown:

I was thinking about the difficulty to create my custom GUI control using OpenGL (using OpenTK (http://www.opentk.com/))... But I feel it will be a hard work (integration with GTK#, debugging, hard to use to design form).

Another possibility is to use Java (with JOGL (http://jogamp.org/jogl/www/)), but I'm not very skilled with it, and I don't know about performance issues.

Last option is C++, but I've to do a big revision (years since last time I used it), and I find it hard to develop GUI and portable application #-o (Maybe I'm wrong!).

What is your opinion/advice?

Tnx!

P.S.:
Sorry for my English. :oops:

Thank you.

KdotJ
July 10th, 2010, 11:54 AM
Netbeans is a great java IDE, with GUI building options. It uses Swing for the GUI components and the IDE itself has some awesome features. It is in the ubuntu repos.

Also, for C++, there is Qt Creator (though leaning more toward KDE look) which has a good GUI builder

KillKRT
July 10th, 2010, 12:06 PM
Netbeans is a great java IDE, with GUI building options. It uses Swing for the GUI components and the IDE itself has some awesome features. It is in the ubuntu repos.

Also, for C++, there is Qt Creator (though leaning more toward KDE look) which has a good GUI builder

Thank you!