PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Booting Windows Vista (32 bit) and Ubuntu 10.04 (64 bit)

SamQ
July 10th, 2010, 03:09 AM
I'm a newbie concerning dual boot OS's and usage in general.

Having looked at a few tutorials on how to create a Dual boot system, I'm left with the following questions:
1- If my Vista OS is 32 bit (on a 32 bit laptop), will the 64 bit Ubuntu 10.04 work properly in a dual boot setup? If not what should be done?
2- If (when creating a dual boot system on 1 hard disk already partitioned as C: (OS) and D: (data files) ) I allocate 30 GB on D: for Ubuntu, ....will applications in the Ubuntu OS partition only access data files in the 30 GB allocated to it, or can it also access data files on D: or C: that are not residing within the 30 GB Ubuntu allocated space?
3- Can the Vista OS "see" any data files located in the Ubuntu 30 GB partition and access them?
4- If the Ubuntu partition is blind to all other partitions, can it access and store data files on an external USB hard drive? If so, is there a significant speed reduction in external hard drive file storage and access when using Ubuntu? I'm concerned about application data storage space.
5- Will doing a complete System Image backup of the Vista OS drive prior to implementing the dual boot system enable me to restore the Vista boot loader? in case something goes wrong with dual-boot?
6- Are there any up-to-date (Ubuntu 10.04) instructions on how to set up a dual boot system using EasyBSD? The current instructions appear dated.
7- I am considering creating a dual boot system on my laptop that has an external "extended monitor" monitor for more desktop space connected to it. Will Ubuntu recognize the extended monitor?

Thanks for your help,
SamQ

garvinrick4
July 10th, 2010, 03:51 AM
64 bit Ok.

If data file is formatted fat32 Windows will give it a Letter and Linux will give it a
partition number. Can swap files easily.

Yes you can mount your Windows OS in Ubuntu.