PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Updates.... DAILY?!?

r_burcham
July 8th, 2010, 02:11 PM
I have been using Ubuntu on my laptop for about 3 months now. I just LOVE the programs and more love the fact that there is a good GUI desktop that is NOT windows based. For the last few weeks though every time I log in I get the "update" manager pop up. So like a good user I allow it to update and then its fine for the rest of the day. Is this a common for this OS to need this many updates?

N-t-F
July 8th, 2010, 02:17 PM
The point is these are not OS updates, most of the time. All applications use the same system to get their patches, so it is a bit as if under Windows you had the update manager firing for Acrobat reader, Java, Winamp and all other installed applications. You would see it quite often too. ;)

That said, you are not forced to apply updates on a daily basis, but it's not bad to do so since some updates are important, security-wise.

pastalavista
July 8th, 2010, 02:23 PM
In System--> Administration--> Software Sources under the 'Updates' tab you can set how often it checks for updates. Daily is the default.

Goolie
July 8th, 2010, 02:24 PM
i've only used ubuntu for a week or so. But I think it's a little different when it updates. On Windows, you'd update only Windows itself. On Ubuntu, every software package you have installed gets updated. So when I started my windows PC, I'd have to update firefox, opera, chrome, flash, crap cleaner, and other programs on my own. However, on my Ubuntu system I see updates for various programs, my banshee music player, my Wine software, etc. So I don't have to update individual programs. It's an all-in-one for ease. And I've gotten some daily, I think if you look at the actual updates you'll see they're for many different programs.

winter321
July 8th, 2010, 02:25 PM
Sure.