PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] (driver) problems with wiping Vista, installing Ubuntu?

kamion_rooster
July 8th, 2010, 05:31 AM
I just bought a netbook, HP DV2-1039WM, which comes with Vista. I wiped the hard drive and installed Ubuntu 9.10. A problem has arisen in that it doesn't see any wireless card. There is a button on the side with an indicator light that is used to enable/disable wireless. The light is amber and, according to the manual, it is supposed to be blue when wireless is working. The manual just says "push the button" to turn it on, which doesn't do anything.

So, I'm pretty new to linux in general. I recently installed a dual boot on my desktop with Windows 7/Ubuntu, which doesn't have any problems. Are there driver/hardware issues with the setup I am trying on this netbook? The HP website only has drivers for windows OSes listed. Theoretically, I could reinstall windows and/or do a dual-boot, but I'd rather just keep only Ubuntu on it if possible.

Gregorybekkers
July 8th, 2010, 08:16 AM
Find out what kind of wireless card you have.
it is possible that there is a driver in "Hardware"
but isn't enabled by default.

robabdul
July 8th, 2010, 11:45 AM
I hoping someone can help me with my driver query too.

I also have Vista installed on my laptop and want to switch to Ubuntu.

Will ubuntu recognise my hardware, my sound card, wireless card etc.

The reason I ask is because usually when you purchase hardware, drivers are provided for windows and Mac OS's but not for ubuntu.

How does that work guys?

Gregorybekkers
July 8th, 2010, 12:07 PM
well...,
if you have a good hardware vendor it has linux driver on it's webpage.
i know that Nvidia and Realtec have it.
but it depends on your hardware.
otherwise you have to write it yourself (or someone else just google it)

Mark Phelps
July 8th, 2010, 03:00 PM