PDA

View Full Version : I finally got my desktop looking like I want it to!

Dustin2128
July 8th, 2010, 02:52 AM
After being told many times 'it's not possible with anything other than kde' or 'all or none' I finally figured out how to remove window borders from a transparent, scrollbar-less aterm, set it to be embedded in the desktop, and all within the confines of GNOME (pretty much) achieving what I've been attempting to do for 2 months! The funny part was that it was laughably easy, taking only about 2 minutes and involving only two lines of config file changes. First I went to compiz fusion icon and set window manager to kwin. That gives the windows and effects the same behavior as kde but does not force me to use the kde panel or widget system, or in short, any of the things that cause me to dislike it. After that, I changed a few things in the kde compositing manager to give me the same desktop effects I had before (and then some), swap the window decorations to one of my favorite third party themes, and presto! perfect desktop! If anyone's wondering, at the time I took those screenshots I was running a build script from google code's quake2 html5 project (http://code.google.com/p/quake2-gwt-port/wiki/BuildingAndRunning).

dragos240
July 8th, 2010, 02:55 AM
Cool! You got a terminal on your desktop? Tut?

sailthesea
July 8th, 2010, 03:02 AM
Is very nice I wonder if OpenSuse would support those effects?

Lightstar
July 8th, 2010, 03:05 AM
Feels way too busy for me! And there's barely anything running! I guess I like my desktop clean and mostly empty :)

But I'm glad you were able to customize it to your need :D Good job!

Dustin2128
July 8th, 2010, 03:10 AM
Cool! You got a terminal on your desktop? Tut?
got most the info in the above post, but here's how to do it the with the method I did (probably more efficient methods, but this works for me)
first of all I got aterm, it's in the repos so that was the easy bit.
then