PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu & Vista Dual Boot (Can't Access Vista)

Smallwheels
July 8th, 2010, 01:29 AM
I'm still new to OS manipulation. I've followed instructions and things aren't going well. I'll include some things from other threads that are pertinent to this problem.

I reinstalled Vista successfully on my HP AMD 2.3 GHz Sempron 32 bit system. I reloaded my programs and files then defragmented the computer.

Next I installed the ISO disc and several hours later followed the instructions on the screen to partition the drive. Of the 320 GB I gave Vista 125 of which 85 plus 11.9 were in use by the computer. I set the remainder to Ubuntu. After another couple of hours I completed the instructions and told it to restart using the button that instructed me to do so.

When I did there was an error message and a gigantic litany of lines repeating the same error only with different numbers at the end. I have no idea what they mean. Here is what was on the screen:

[ 6324 . 635578 ] end_request: I/O error, dev sr0, sector 506312

As I said, that repeated over and over with just the last number changed for each line. The numbers were almost sequential. I had to turn off the computer using the power button. When it restarted with Ubuntu I entered my password and the desktop appeared. Soon afterward a message opened about updates. I loaded them and that took nearly two hours.