PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual install problem. No operating system

Bryan55
July 7th, 2010, 10:20 PM
I am wanting to put Ubuntu on to an Acer aspire One which already has Linpus lite on it.
However when I get to the partitioning stage it says "This computer has no operating system on it" though the partition slider shows there is?? See screenshot.

I'm unsure this will work as a dual boot. Should I proceed ?

Thanks for any help.

Bryan.

stlsaint
July 7th, 2010, 11:09 PM
To be safe i would say to do a manual partition install. You will need to partitions for a install:
1)a swap partition
2) a root (/) partition

Karl10
July 7th, 2010, 11:13 PM
Hi Bryan

I'm far from an expert, but if I'm reading the screenshot right, the top bar is a "before" shot (Hard drive as the install program sees it,) and the bottom bar is an "after" shot, or how it will look after the install. What's confusing me is that, as you pointed out, there appears to be no evidence of an existing OS, other than the checkbox that says, in effect, "put 'em in side by side and choose at boot."

"Choose WHAT? There's no OS, didn't you just say so??? Stupid computer..... grumble grumble..."

Even stranger, to me at least, is that "both" OS's are being put into the first partition (/dev/sda1), and the swapfile on the second partition (/dev/sda2.) I would expect to see three partitions; one for each OS, and a third for the swapfile (never heard of Linpus until this posting; have no idea if it needs a swapfile, but being Linux at heart, it probably does, and that would be the teeny-tiny little slice of green at the tail end of the top bar, also labeled /dev/sda2.) Biggest unknown of all is whether the two OS's will peacefully share the swapfile; as shown, there's only one, and it's the same size both before, and after.