PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Security Updates Killed fresh install

AvinThat
July 7th, 2010, 12:08 PM
Hi all,

I'm completely new to Ubuntu and only installed yesterday for the first time.

The install worked fine. After booting it asked me to install updates. I did this and now when I boot i get:

------------------
Gave up waiting for root device. Common Problems:
- Boot args (cat /proc/cmdline)
- Check rootdelay= (did the system wait long enough)
- Check root= (did the system wait for the right device)
- Missing modules (cat /proc/modules: ls /dev)
ALERT! /dev/disk/by-uuid/blah blah does not exist. Dropping to a shell!

BusyBox....etc etc

(inittramfs)
-----------------------

Now I've tried searching through the forums and I've seen people with similar problems however none of the solutions suggested to them have worked. The only thing that may work if it is explained to me how to do it is in Grub 2 it is looking for a UUID. Now I tried editing this on startup to /dev/sda5 instead and it loads. Only thing is I read that this is temporary and would have to do it each time which means it's a workaround not a solution.

Any suggestions?

As I explained at the start, first time of using Ubuntu and so far haven't been particularly impressed as I have another problem with the processor being used up by loads of 'udevd' ----if you have a solution to this would be nice too!

Cheers

tommcd
July 7th, 2010, 12:31 PM
The only thing that may work if it is explained to me how to do it is in Grub 2 it is looking for a UUID. Now I tried editing this on startup to /dev/sda5 instead and it loads. Only thing is I read that this is temporary and would have to do it each time which means it's a workaround not a solution.
To find the UUID of each partition on the hard drive run this command from the terminal:

blkid
This will list the partitions and their UUIDs like this:

bash-4.1# blkid
/dev/sda1: UUID="9AD8D8F9D8D8D51B" TYPE="ntfs"