PDA

View Full Version : Absolute beginner in Windows

nothingspecial
July 5th, 2010, 07:35 PM
I have a computer that has a sticker with a windows product key (or whatever it is) on it.

I started with linux and when I acquire a new computer I usually nuke windows before it even boots.

However, my wife`s teaching degree requires her to use some windows software. And those of you who are married will know what you ultimately have to do when instructions come from a higher place ;)

So, I am of the understanding that if you have the key, and you bought the computer, then you have bought windows, and can get an install disk.

But where from, I have looked at the microsoft website and also the Packard Bell website but can find nowhere to download windows7 from. Is there somewhere I can enter my product key and download it from. It came with a windows7 partition, a Vista partition and a recovery partition but I nuked them in favour of Edubuntu and slackware. There were no recovery disks.

Funnily enough, her netbook, which I would prefer to install windows on, came with a recovery disk, but no disk drive. I am assuming that the version of windows on the netbook`s recovery cd will not play well with the far newer desktop (64bit).

What is my best course of action................ or should I just send her down to the library? :P

CharlesA
July 5th, 2010, 07:38 PM
Normally prebuild PCs have a "recovery partition" on the hard drive that includes Windows and drivers and junk that you can restore. Most machines don't come with "recovery disks" anymore.

If you have an OEM license for Windows, I suppose you could download a Windows 7 ISO, but I wouldn't do that personally.

nothingspecial
July 5th, 2010, 07:44 PM
I know they have recovery partitions, I just formatted it and installed linux. Then she started a teaching degree for which she needs windows.

I think an extra £30,000 a year is worth it. Surely I can get windows legit, somehow?

RiceMonster
July 5th, 2010, 07:47 PM