PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help with ATI Driver requirements

Scarred Warble
July 5th, 2010, 12:03 PM
Hello!

I'm new to Ubuntu and I need a little help, you see I have a ATI graphics card and a widscreen monitor. To be able to see anything I have to use the built-in VESA driver, which stretches the picture from 4:3 to 16:9, which is very annoying.

The version I am trying this on is Ubuntu 9.10.

I have downloaded and installed the Driver I need from ATI website (http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/linux/Pages/radeon_linux.aspx?type=2.4.1&product=2.4.1.3.42&lang=English) (<-clickable) but on reboot the screen goes black/blank with the occasional flash of text once every (approximately) 20 seconds. The text does not change (had it on for several hours).

When installing I've tried just opening it, it installed but the logs said there was an error. On reboot I got the blank screen after the Ubuntu logo with the flash of text once in a while. I can not access the thingy that you get to by pressing F6 (I barley know what I'm talking about).

I've also tried using these commands to install:
sudo chmod +x ati-driver-installer-10-6-x86.x86_64.run
sudo sh ati-driver-installer-10-6-x86.x86_64.run
aticonfig --initial -f

With the same result.

So I go online and start looking for some more instructions and you know what, ATI had very precise instructions the whole time.

https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/linux_cat91-inst.pdf

There is only one catch, they say on page two and three that some things are required, to be more precise:

• POSIX Shared Memory (/dev/shm) support is required for 3D apps
• glibc version 2.2 or 2.3
• Linux kernel 2.6 or higher
• XOrg 6.8, 6.9, 7.0, 7.1, 7.2, 7.3 or 7.4
• XFree86-Mesa-libGL
• libstdc++
• libgcc
• XFree86-libs
• fontconfig
• freetype
• zlib
• gcc

I'm using Ubuntu 9.10.

How do I know if I have them and how do I get those I don't have?

Thank you!

Mark Phelps
July 6th, 2010, 02:14 PM